Wednesday 29 June 2022


< back | business | images | knowledge | library | rail unveiled | home


::: Test message -_— £ $ ‘’

Railhub Archive
2016-10-13 DfT-002
Department for Transport


Rail passenger compensation

keywords: click to search
Consumer Rights Act 2015

Phrases in [single square brackets] are hyperlinks in the original document

Phrases in [[double square brackets]] are editorial additions or corrections

Phrases in [[[triple square brackets]]] indicate embedded images or graphics in the original document. (These are not usually archived unless they contain significant additional information.)

Department for Transport

Rail passenger compensation

related documents

2004-01-19 Major rail review announced (Department for Transport)

2004-01-19 Railways (Department for Transport)


13 October 2016
source Department for Transport
type Written statement

note Paul Maynard MP

Improved compensation scheme for passengers if their train is more than 15 minutes late.

My Right Honourable friend, the Secretary of State for Transport (Chris Grayling), is today (13 October 2016) announcing that rail passengers will soon be able to claim compensation if their train is more than 15 minutes late under an improved compensation scheme.

‘Delay Repay 15’ will be introduced within months on Govia Thameslink Railway (GTR) services, including Southern, and then rolled out across the country. Passengers will be able to claim 25% of the cost of the single fare for delays between 15 and 29 minutes. The existing compensation thresholds will apply for delays from 30 minutes with passengers able to apply for compensation through the train operating company.

Following its introduction on GTR services, Delay Repay 15 will be rolled out across the network starting with the new South Western, West Midlands and South Eastern franchises.

All franchise competitions let by the Department will include requirements to introduce this policy and the Department will explore opportunities to roll this out for all DfT franchises this Parliament.

Delay Repay is currently operated by the majority of operators and a number of existing franchises, including Virgin Trains West Coast and c2c, have also taken steps to introduce automatic compensation for certain ticket types.

The existing Delay Repay thresholds are as follows:

o 50% of the single fare for delays of 30 to 59 minutes
o 100% of the single fare for delays of 60 minutes or more
o 100% of the return fare for delays of 2 hours or more

As well as Delay Repay, the introduction of the Consumer Rights Act on 1 October strengthened the right of passengers to claim compensation for poor service.

Railhub Archive ::: 2016-10-13 DfT-002


Not logged on

7 stories