Tuesday 25 January 2022


< back | business | images | knowledge | library | rail unveiled | home


::: RMT threatens national industrial action over service cuts

Railhub Archive
1996-05-09 DoT-001
Department of Transport


Announcement of appointments to the Disabled Persons Transport Advisory Committee

keywords: click to search


Phrases in [single square brackets] are hyperlinks in the original document

Phrases in [[double square brackets]] are editorial additions or corrections

Phrases in [[[triple square brackets]]] indicate embedded images or graphics in the original document. (These are not usually archived unless they contain significant additional information.)

Department of Transport

Announcement of appointments to the Disabled Persons Transport Advisory Committee

9 May 1996
source Department of Transport
type Press release

note 145

The Department of Transport today announced the new membership of the
Disabled Persons Transport Advisory Committee (DPTAC).

The announcement follows the statutory review of membership which
took place at the end of 1995 and involved extensive consultation
with disability and transport interests.

The members of the Committee are as follows:

Jean Ashcroft Arthritis Care.

Peter Barker Joint Mobility Unit, Royal National Institute for the

Brian Bigwood Conwy County Borough Council and member of the Chartered
Institute of Transport.

William Buchanan Disability Adviser to the British Railways Board.

Cliff Dallinger Merseytravel and Passenger Transport Executive Group,
Special Needs Topic Group.

David Dunsmuir Disability Scotland.

Claudia Flanders TRIPSCOPE.

Sir John Hannam MP All Party Disablement Group.

Tony Kennan Confederation of Passenger Transport.

Valerie Lang Scope.

Sir Peter Large Joint Committee on Mobility for Disabled People.

Grahame Lawson East Lanarkshire County Council. Member of the
Institution of Highways and Transportation.

Bert Massie Royal Association for Disability and Rehabilitation.

Jenny Meadows Community Transport Association.

David Quainton Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders.

Dorothy Rhodes Pensioners Voice and Trustee of Age Concern.

Janet Scammell Disabled Drivers Motor Club.

Cath Simpson Glasgow City Council. Co-ordinator for services to blind
and visually impaired people and a representative
of the Scottish National Federation on the Joint
Committee on Mobility for the Blind.

Jane Wilmot Royal National Institute for Deaf People.

Peta Wright BAA Plc.

The new membership brings a combination of experience and expertise
in disability and transport which is essential to the Committees
work with the Department of Transport in taking forward regulations
on accessible transport under the Disability Discrimination Act 1995.
Members will serve on the committee for a period of three years.

Robert Taylor is the Chairman of the Committee and has recently been
reappointed for his second term.


1. The legal basis for the Committee is set out in section 125 of
the Transport Act 1985. Membership is limited to a maximum of 20 and
there is a statutory obligation to ensure that as far as possible at
least half the membership comprises disabled people.

The Department of Transport
Mobility Unit
Zone 1/11
Great Minster House
76 Marsham Street

Railhub Archive ::: 1996-05-09 DoT-001


Not logged on

33 stories

3 collections