Friday 12 August 2022


< back | business | images | knowledge | library | rail unveiled | home


::: Test message -_— £ $ ‘’

Railhub Archive
1996-06-13 DoT-002
Department of Transport


Angela Hooper CBE re-appointed as chairman of the Rail Users Consultative Committee for southern England

keywords: click to search
Rail Users' Consultative Committees

Phrases in [single square brackets] are hyperlinks in the original document

Phrases in [[double square brackets]] are editorial additions or corrections

Phrases in [[[triple square brackets]]] indicate embedded images or graphics in the original document. (These are not usually archived unless they contain significant additional information.)

Department of Transport

Angela Hooper CBE re-appointed as chairman of the Rail Users Consultative Committee for southern England

related documents

1996-02-09 Statement from the Rail Regulator on the LTS investigation (Office of the Rail Regulator)

1996-02-05 Rail Regulator investigates alleged ticket irregularities at LTS Rail (Office of the Rail Regulator)


13 June 1996
source Department of Transport
type Press release

note 184

John Watts, Minister for Railways and Roads, has announced the
re-appointment of Miss Angela Hooper CBE as Chairman of the Rail
Users Consultative Committee (RUCC) for Southern England, until
31 July 1998.

Miss Hooper, who lives in Hampshire and London, was first
appointed Chairman of the Southern RUCC in 1986.

Miss Hooper is currently a member of the Railway Industry
Advisory Committee and the Health and Safety Commission. She is
also a member of the Corporate Sub-Committee and Deputy Chairman
of the Eurostar Joint Sub-Committee of the Central Rail Users
Consultative Committee (CRUCC). Miss Hooper has wide knowledge
of Committee work and has been a Councillor for ten years.

Miss Hooper was formerly the Deputy Director of Organisation and
Chief Woman Executive of the Conservative Party. She is a past
President of Southampton Junior Chamber of Commerce and works
with a number of voluntary organisations. Miss Hooper was also
a past member of the Equal Opportunity Commission.

RUCC Chairmen are ex-officio members of the CRUCC which is the
national body.


1. Eight RUCCs superseded the former Transport Users
Consultative Committees under the Railways Act 1993. They
operate as watchdogs for users of Britains rail services.

2. Sir George Young, Secretary of State for Transport, appoints
the Chairmen of the regional Rail Users Consultative Committees.

3. Rail users who do not receive a satisfactory response to
their complaint, from their train operator, can contact the
appropriate Committee which may be able to take up the matter on
their behalf.

4. In the case of closures of services or stations, for
instance, the Committee have the power to hold public hearings;
they can then report on possible hardships and propose amendments
to alleviate them.

5. The Committees can also consider any matter which is
referred to them by the Secretary of State and the Regulator, as
well as any other matter that they feel they themselves should
look into.

The address of the Southern RUCC is:

4th Floor
35 Old Queen Street

Railhub Archive ::: 1996-06-13 DoT-002


Not logged on