Tuesday 9 August 2022


< back | business | images | knowledge | library | rail unveiled | home


::: Test message -_— £ $ ‘’

Railhub Archive
1999-07-20 SRA-001
Shadow Strategic Rail Authority


SSRA Executive up and running

keywords: click to search
Shadow Strategic Rail Authority

Phrases in [single square brackets] are hyperlinks in the original document

Phrases in [[double square brackets]] are editorial additions or corrections

Phrases in [[[triple square brackets]]] indicate embedded images or graphics in the original document. (These are not usually archived unless they contain significant additional information.)

Shadow Strategic Rail Authority

SSRA Executive up and running

20 July 1999
source Shadow Strategic Rail Authority
type Press release

Mike Grant, the Franchising Director, has today announced that six key
members of a top executive team will lead in the management and
development of the Strategic Rail Authority, in its current 'shadow' form and

He also announced that from today OPRAF - the Office of Passenger Rail
Franchising - will operate under the title Shadow Strategic Rail Authority

Headed by Chairman Sir Alastair Morton, with Mike Grant as Chief Executive,
the executive has five Executive Directors and a principal legal adviser. Three
Executive Directors - Chris Stokes (Strategic Development), Nick Newton
(Franchise Management) and David Revolta (Finance & Administration) were
announced today, along with the appointment of Terence Jenner as The
Solicitor. Recruitment for two other Executive Director appointments, for
Technical Services and External Relations, has begun.

Notes to Editors

1. The SSRA combines the roles of the British Railways Board (BRB) and
OPRAF pending Parliament's approval of the new Railways Bill, which would
abolish the position of Director of Passenger Rail Franchising and OPRAF,
and establish the Strategic Rail Authority (SRA) as its successor body. The
'Shadow ' reference would then also be dropped.

2. Although today's announcement means that OPRAF is now functioning
under the 'SSRA ' label, both Mike Grant as Chief Executive and Sir Alastair
Morton as Chairman will continue respectively to use powers, and be subject
to duties contained in, the Railways Act 1993, the Transport Act 1962, and the
British Coal and British Rail (Transfer Proposals) Act 1993 until such time as
the SRA legislation is passed.

3. Biographies covering the four appointments announced today (Chris
Stokes, Nick Newton and David Revolta have worked for OPRAF, Terence
Jenner for the BRB) are available from the SSRA press office.

4. Prior to today's announcements, two other senior SSRA appointments had
already recently been made - Julia Clarke (Freight Director) and Agnes
Bonnet (European Rail Relations Manager).

5. The residuary functions of the BRB have been delegated to an Executive
Committee chaired by James Jerram, Vice Chairman of the BRB.

6. The 1998/99 edition of the OPRAF Annual Report, covering the financial
year to 31 March 1999 was also published today. Press copies are available
from the SSRA press office

For further details contact the Department for Transport Rail Press desk:
020 7944 3108

Railhub Archive ::: 1999-07-20 SRA-001


Not logged on

2 documents