Thursday 30 June 2022


< back | business | images | knowledge | library | rail unveiled | home


::: Test message -_— £ $ ‘’

Railhub Archive
2002-08-29 DfT-001
Department for Transport


Appointments to the Commission for Integrated Transport

keywords: click to search
Commission for Integrated Transport

Phrases in [single square brackets] are hyperlinks in the original document

Phrases in [[double square brackets]] are editorial additions or corrections

Phrases in [[[triple square brackets]]] indicate embedded images or graphics in the original document. (These are not usually archived unless they contain significant additional information.)

Department for Transport

Appointments to the Commission for Integrated Transport

29 Aug 2002 00:00
source Department for Transport
type Press release

Alistair Darling, Secretary of State for Transport, has made three new appointments to the Commission for Integrated Transport.

Stewart Francis, Helen Holland and Neil Scales join the 17-strong Commission set up in 1999. The Commission provides independent advice to Government on the implementation of integrated transport policy and monitors progress towards meeting the objectives of the 1998 White Paper 'A New Deal for Transport' and 'Transport 2010: The 10 Year Plan'.

In addition to the new members, the following existing members have been reappointed: Bill Morris, Stephen Joseph, Mike Parker, David Leeder, Lilli Matson, and Lawrence Christensen.

The Commission's Chairman, David Begg, and Vice Chairman, Sir Trevor Chinn, were re-appointed in March this year.

The Commission also has two other members and four ex-officio members.


Biographical details:

Stewart Francis is Chairman of the Rail Passengers' Council and the NSC Strategic Health Authority. He is a Partner in Francis Vincent Media and Chairman of LITE FM, Peterborough. He is former Chairman of the Commercial Radio Companies Associations and former Chief Executive of Mid Anglian Radio plc and an award-winning broadcaster.

Helen Holland is Deputy Leader with responsibility for Transport, and Executive Member for Environment, Transport and Leisure at Bristol City Council. She is a Board Member of the South West of England RDA and was a former Chair of the Bristol Regeneration Partnerships.

Neil Scales is Chief Executive and Director General of Merseytravel, the Merseyside Passenger Transport Authority and Executive. He is Chairman of the "Don't Choke Britain" campaign, the Inform Group (real time passenger information system) and ITSO (Integrated Transport Smartcard Organisation). He is a former independent transport and engineering consultant and has previously held engineering and management posts with various bus companies and the Tyne and Wear PTE.

Existing membership

David Begg is Director of the Centre for Transport Policy at the Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen, non-executive Director of the Strategic Rail Authority, and member of the Scottish Office's National Transport Forum.

Sir Trevor Chinn is Chairman of Lex Service plc and ITIS Holdings plc, and Trustee of the RAC Foundation for Motoring.

Laurence Christensen is Supply Director and Board member of Safeway Stores plc, Chief Executive Safeway Stores(Ireland) Ltd, and President of the Freight Transport Association.

Bill Morris is General Secretary of the TGWU and Chair of the TUC's Transport Committee.

Stephen Joseph is Executive Director of Transport 2000.

Mike Parker is Director General of Nexus, the Passenger Transport Executive for Tyne and Wear.

David Leeder is Director Bus First Group and President of the Confederation of Passenger Transport.

Lili Matson is Head of Transport and Natural Resources at the Council for the Protection for Rural England.

Baroness Ros Scott is a Suffolk County Councillor, Vice Chair of the Local Government Association Transport Executive and Member of the EU Committee of the Regions.

Mike Hodgkinson is Chief Executive of BAA plc.

Jane Wilmot (ex-officio) is Chair of the Disabled Persons' Transport Advisory Committee.

Sir Roy McNulty (ex-officio) is Chairman of the Civil Aviation Authority.

Tim Matthews (ex- officio) is Chief Executive of the Highways Agency.

Richard Bowker (ex-officio) is Chairman of the Strategic Rail Authority.

The three new members replace John O'Brien, Veronica Palmer and Nicky Gavron whose appointments to the Commission ended on 20 June 2002.

Remuneration for Members is £5,431 per annum on the basis of one to two days per month. The appointments will run until July 2005.

Remuneration for the Chairman is £30,000 pa and £24,000 pa for the Vice-Chairman on the basis of 3-4 days per month. The appointments run until March 2005 and March 2004 respectively.

Reappointments for Bill Morris, Stephen Joseph, Mike Parker and David Leeder run to June 2005. Lilli Matson and Lawrence Christensen's reappointments run until June 2004.

All appointments have been made in accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments' Guidance on Appointments to Public Bodies.

The Commission's work during the last year has included:

- Monitoring of Transport 2010 - The 10 Year Plan
- Work on securing best value for public subsidy in the bus industry - European Best Practice in Delivering Integrated Transport - Paying for Road Use
- 44 tonne lorries

More information about the Commission can be found on their website at

Press Enquiries: 020 7944 3066
Public Enquiries: 020 7944 3000
DfT website -

Railhub Archive ::: 2002-08-29 DfT-001


Not logged on