Tuesday 28 June 2022


< back | business | images | knowledge | library | rail unveiled | home


::: Test message -_— £ $ ‘’

Railhub Archive
2002-12-04 NET-001
Network Rail


Network Rail completes public member selection process

keywords: click to search
Network Rail

Phrases in [single square brackets] are hyperlinks in the original document

Phrases in [[double square brackets]] are editorial additions or corrections

Phrases in [[[triple square brackets]]] indicate embedded images or graphics in the original document. (These are not usually archived unless they contain significant additional information.)

Network Rail

Network Rail completes public member selection process

4 December 2002
source Network Rail
type Press release

London & South East

Network Rail today unveils its Public Members whose appointment will ensure independent oversight, strong accountability and high standards of corporate governance.

84 Public Members were selected by an independent Membership Selection Panel (MSP) from a strong field of some 1241 applicants.

Network Rail has no shareholders and will pay no dividends. Instead, it has Members and will reinvest any operating surplus in the rail network.

The principal role of the Public Members, and the 31 Industry Members now appointed, is to hold the Board accountable for its performance and contribute to the successful delivery of Network Rail’s plans for safe, reliable and efficient rail infrastructure. Public Members, who responded to a national advertising campaign, were chosen according to their skills and experience.

Industry Members are representatives of rail licence holders, the companies which operate Britain’s rail network.

Public Members 51 of the Public Members announced today are private individuals.

33 have been drawn from a wide variety of stakeholder organisations including passenger authorities, regional transport executives, disabled access groups and business representatives. All have demonstrated a commitment to making a constructive contribution to Network Rail.

The successful private individuals represent a diverse range of backgrounds including; rail service users, community service, finance, rail employees, industry and public safety.

The youngest is aged 20, the most senior 75. A considerable number of commercial organisations and customers submitted applications to become Public Members. There was also strong interest from representative organisations and associations, which has been reflected in the Membership Selection Panel’s final recommendations.

10 of the 33 organisations represented are from the public sector. There was an unusually high response rate (48%) of completed application forms received from prospective Public Members out of the 2500 membership packs which were requested. Successful candidates have been selected from Cornwall to the Highlands and every region in between.

One notable feature of the process was the particularly high quality of applications received from women, who make up 23.5% of Public Members. An overall majority of Network Rail’s 115 strong Membership body is drawn from the private sector.

Public Members will serve an initial term of 3 years. Membership is non-transferable and cannot be sold. Clear division of responsibility Network Rail is a company limited by guarantee, run along commercial lines but with no shareholders. Its Board of Directors has sole responsibility for the running and management of the Company and for strategy, financing and decision making. The members’ role is to hold the Board accountable for that management. Members will review the performance of Network Rail against its targets and ensure high levels of corporate governance. The day-to-day operation and management of the business will be the responsibility of the Board.

Independent Membership Selection Panel

he independent Membership Selection Panel comprises Sir Malcolm Field (ex Chief Executive of WH Smith Plc and Chairman of the Civil Aviation Authority from 1996 to 2001), as Chairman, Sir Edward Osmotherly (previously the Local Government Ombudsman and chairman of the Commission for Local Administration in England) and Sir Robert Smith, (a non-executive director of Network Rail and Chairman of the Weir Group plc and former Vice Chairman of Deutsche Asset Management).

Sir Malcolm Field, Chairman of the Membership Selection Panel, says: “We have been greatly impressed by the quality and experience of the candidates who applied to become Public Members of Network Rail. The Public Members selected have a key role to play in holding the Board to account and ensuring the delivery of high standards of corporate governance.”

Ian McAllister, Chairman of Network Rail, says; “I am delighted to extend a warm welcome to our new Members. I am sure that they will work with us to help deliver the high quality rail infrastructure the travelling public has a right to expect.”


Industry Members
Amec Rail Ltd Amey Rail Limited Arriva Trains Northern Balfour Beatty Rail Plant Limited Bombardier Transportation UK Ltd c2c Rail Limited Connex South Eastern Limited English Welsh & Scottish Railway Limited Eurostar (UK) Ltd First Engineering Ltd Freightliner Ltd G.T. Railway Maintenance Ltd GB Railfreight Ltd GNER Holdings Ltd Grand Central Railway Company Ltd GrantRail Ltd Great Western Trains Co Ltd Heathrow Express Operating Company Ltd Jarvis Fastline Limited London Underground Limited Merlin Rail Limited Serco Railtest Limited Siemens Transportation Systems South West Trains Limited Thameslink Rail Ltd The Chiltern Railway Company Ltd Tyne & Wear Passenger Transport Executive West Coast Railway Company Ltd West Coast Traincare Ltd (Alstom) West Coast Trains Limited - more - Members - 4 Other members Strategic Rail Authority Public Members (Organisations) Advantage West Midlands (representing all English RDAs) Airport Operators Association Associated Society of Locomotive Engineers and Firemen Association of Community-Rail Partnerships Association of Transport Co-ordinating Officers Birmingham Chamber of Commerce & Industry British Tourist Authority C.T.C (Cyclists) Confederation of Shipbuilding and Engineering Unions Convention of Scottish Local Authorities Devon and Cornwall Business Council Eurotunnel plc Freight Transport Association Highland Rail Partnership Local Government Association of England and Wales London First National Farmers Union of England and Wales National Union of Rail, Maritime and Transport Workers Passenger Transport Executive Group Private Wagon Federation Royal Association for Disability & Rehabilitation Rail Freight Group Railway Industry Association Rail Passengers Council Railway Civil Engineers' Association Scottish Executive South East England Regional Assembly The Crime Concern Trust Ltd Transport 2000 Ltd Transport For London Transport Salaried Staffs Association Welsh Assembly West Midlands Regional Assembly

Public Members (Individuals)
Anja Amsel David Barker Robert Barton Roderick Braithwaite James Branston Anthony Bright Geoffrey Butterwick Dugald Cameron Frances Christley Dudley Coates Sarah Collett Tim Creed Thomas Dalziel Julianne Dunn Tom Everington Peter Gavan David Gilchrist David Green Alistair Greig Richard Hadden Andrew Izard Maureen Kavanagh Graeme Keedy Ivan Lee Andrew Lowery Philip Lund Michael Mathieson Peter Morris Margaret Munro Adetokunbo Ogunbiyi Christopher Owen Janet Pavey Simon Pilkington Simon Pitcher Hazel Prowse Jacqueline Pryor Simon Reed Mohamed Saheid Roderick Shelton Deion Smith Christopher Smith Tanya Spensley Barbara Spring Patricia Steel OBE David Stewart-David Christopher Tarry Ralph Tiffin Bill Ure Arun Vaidya-Nathan Patrick Waterhouse Meurig Williams

Contact information

Media Relations (London & South East)
020 3356 9166 / 9164

Railhub Archive ::: 2002-12-04 NET-001


Not logged on

499 stories

2 documents

32 collections

6 documents

7 documents