Thursday 18 August 2022


< back | business | images | knowledge | library | rail unveiled | home


::: Test message -_— £ $ ‘’

Railhub Archive
2004-02-09 DfT-001
Department for Transport


Chairman of the Rail Passengers Council reappointed

keywords: click to search
Department for Transport

Phrases in [single square brackets] are hyperlinks in the original document

Phrases in [[double square brackets]] are editorial additions or corrections

Phrases in [[[triple square brackets]]] indicate embedded images or graphics in the original document. (These are not usually archived unless they contain significant additional information.)

Department for Transport

Chairman of the Rail Passengers Council reappointed

9 Feb 2004 00:00
source Department for Transport
type Press release

Transport Secretary Alistair Darling today announced the re-appointment of Stewart Francis as Chairman of the Rail Passengers Council.

Stewart Francis will head the body that represents and protects the interests of rail passengers for a further four years.

Announcing the appointment Alistair Darling said:

"For the past four years, Stewart Francis has strived to enhance the role of the Rail Passengers Council and of the regional Rail Passenger Committees. I am grateful because they are now in a much stronger position to represent the needs and concerns of all those who use our railways.

"I am pleased that this re-appointment will give him the chance to continue with the good work he has already done."

Notes to Editors

1. Before being appointed as Chairman of the Rail Passengers Council, for his first term of appointment in February 2000, Stewart Francis had previously been Chairman of the Rail Users Consultative Committee (RUCC) for Eastern England - and was appointed to this post by Ministers in 1996. In March 1999 he became the Deputy Chairman of the Central Rail Users Consultative Committee (CRUCC) and in February 2000, was appointed as Chairman by Keith Hill, the Parliamentary Under Secretary of State. He continues to be a member of the Commission for Integrated Transport (CfIT).

2. The Rail Passenger Chairman's responsibilities include ensuring that the RPC network is seen as the independent, authoritative voice of the rail passenger; to set strategic objectives within the network for the benefit of rail users; to identify key consumer issues, formulate policy and monitor the outcome; and to represent the committees views to the industry, regulators, the Government and the media.

3. The Rail Passengers Council comprises 9 Chairmen (8 from the Committees and one from the London Transport Users Committee) and 6 independent members. There are 8 regional Rail Passenger Committees - one for each English region - and one for each for Wales and Scotland. The Rail Passengers Council co-ordinates the work of the Committees. In London the London Transport Users Committee (LTUC) is responsible for representing the needs of rail users.

4. The Rail Passengers Council and Rail Passenger Committees were set up under the Railways Act 1993 to protect the interests of rail users. Under the Transport Act 2000, the Central Rail Users Consultative Committee and the Rail Users Consultative Committees were renamed the Rail Passengers Council and Rail Passengers Committees - and at the same time sponsorship of the organisations switched from the Rail Regulator to the SRA).

5. Under the Railways Act 1993, as amended by the Transport Act 2000, the Chairman and Members of the Rail Passengers Council and Committees are appointed by Ministers. They cannot serve more than 2 concurrent four-year terms of office.

Public Enquiries: 020 7944 8300
Department for Transport Website:

Railhub Archive ::: 2004-02-09 DfT-001


Not logged on