Tuesday 28 June 2022


< back | business | images | knowledge | library | rail unveiled | home


::: Test message -_— £ $ ‘’

Railhub Archive
2004-03-19 DfT-001
Department for Transport


Chief Executive and non-executive board members named

keywords: click to search

Phrases in [single square brackets] are hyperlinks in the original document

Phrases in [[double square brackets]] are editorial additions or corrections

Phrases in [[[triple square brackets]]] indicate embedded images or graphics in the original document. (These are not usually archived unless they contain significant additional information.)

Department for Transport

Chief Executive and non-executive board members named

19 Mar 2004 00:00
source Department for Transport
type Press release

Secretary of State for Transport Alistair Darling today announced that Suzanne McCarthy will be the Chief Executive of the new Office of Rail Regulation. The appointment of Jane May, Chris Stokes and Professor Jeffrey Jowell as non-executive board members of the Office was also announced; a further non-executive appointment is expected to be made in May.

The Office of Rail Regulation, which will be chaired by Chris Bolt, will formally come into being on 5 July 2004. It will be independent of Government and will have the same functions and duties as the current Rail Regulator, Tom Winsor, whose five year term comes to an end in July.

Announcing these appointments, Alistair Darling said

"I am very pleased to announce these appointments to the Office of Rail Regulation. The non-executives bring a wide range of experience of the rail industry, of other regulated sectors and of public law. Suzanne McCarthy has extensive regulatory experience at Chief Executive level and a legal background. I am confident that they will all bring fresh insights to railways and their regulation."

The selection process included Chris Bolt, the Chairman designate of the Office of Rail Regulation.

Tom Winsor has invited all of the new appointees to join the Rail Regulator's advisory board as non-executive directors. Alistair Darling will then appoint them to be members of the ORR Board when this is formally established on 5 July.

Notes to Editors

1. Biographies

Suzanne McCarthy
Suzanne McCarthy is currently Chief Executive of the Financial Services Compensation Scheme, a post she has held since October 2000. Previously, she was Chief Executive of the Human Fertilisation and Embryology Authority. She joined the Civil Service in 1989, and in the course of her Whitehall career was Private Secretary to two Home Secretaries and also worked at HM Treasury and the Civil Service College. Before joining the Civil Service, Suzanne was a solicitor in private practice and a lecturer in law at Manchester University. She is currently also a non-executive director of the Royal Brompton and Harefield NHS Trust, and a member of the Board of the Royal National Institute of British Architects and of the Council of the University of London.

Jane May
Jane May has wide experience as an executive and non-executive director across both the public and private sectors. She had a long career in Freemans, which she joined in 1978, becoming Customer Relations Director in 1992. She joined Thames Water in the same role in 1994, where her role expanded to include direction of the Customer Field Services Division. She left Thames in 2000, after also successfully setting up the Marketing and Business Development division. She is currently a non-executive member of the Advisory Board set up by the Director General of Water Services, and also a non-executive director of the Public Guardianship Office and SITA Environmental Trust.

Chris Stokes
Chris Stokes has extensive experience of the railway industry. He joined British Rail in 1967, and worked in various management posts before becoming Deputy Director, Network South East in 1988. In 1993, he moved to the newly established Office of Passenger Rail Franchising (OPRAF) as Deputy Franchising Director, and had direct responsibility for the first phase of the sales process. He was an Executive Director in the Strategic Rail Authority, which replaced OPRAF, before joining LEK Consulting in August 2000. Since July 2003, he has been an independent consultant on rail industry strategy. Chris Stokes is a current member of the Rail Regulator's Advisory Board and is also a school governor.

Jeffrey Jowell
Jeffrey Jowell QC is Professor of Public Law at University College London. He is also a practising barrister at Blackstone Chambers. Professor Jowell is a leading authority on public law, and has written widely in those areas. In 2000, he was appointed by the Government as UK's first member of the Council of Europe's Commission for Democracy Through Law (The Venice Commission), and is now Vice Chairman of the Commission. He is a member, since 2003, of the Royal Commission on Environmental Pollution. Professor Jowell has held visiting professorships in a number of universities outside of the UK, serves on the boards of various public bodies and legal journals and has advised on constitutional and administrative law matters in a number of countries including South Africa, Serbia and Montenegro and Jersey.

2. The Office of Rail Regulation

* The change from an individual regulator to a regulatory board brings the ORR into line with other economic regulators, following a recommendation in July 2001 by the Better Regulation Task Force. The Secretary of State for Transport, Alistair Darling, announced this decision in a Parliamentary Answer on 12 June 2002.

* Powers to set up the new Office of Rail Regulation are provided by the Railways and Transport Safety Act 2003.

* The appointment as Chief Executive is full time for a period of three years, which can be renewed. Non-executive board members are appointed for periods of between two and five years, to provide staggered end dates as a continuity measure.

* The selection process for the Chief Executive was chaired by a Civil Service Commissioner and included Chris Bolt, the Chairman designate of the ORR. The selection process for non-executive board members followed procedures laid down by OCPA, the Office of the Commissioner for Public Appointments, and also included Chris Bolt. The appointment as Chief Executive is made formally by the ORR Board in consultation with the Secretary of State. The Secretary of State makes the appointments to the Board of the ORR.

Public Enquiries: 020 7944 8300
Department for Transport Website: http://www.dft.gov.uk

Railhub Archive ::: 2004-03-19 DfT-001


Not logged on

11 stories

2 documents

6 documents