Saturday 16 October 2021


< back | business | images | knowledge | library | rail unveiled | home


::: RMT threatens national industrial action over service cuts

Railhub Archive
2005-06-28 DfT-001
Department for Transport


Acting chair appointed to the Rail Passengers Council

keywords: click to search

Department for Transport

Phrases in [single square brackets] are hyperlinks in the original document

Phrases in [[double square brackets]] are editorial additions or corrections

Phrases in [[[triple square brackets]]] indicate embedded images or graphics in the original document. (These are not usually archived unless they contain significant additional information.)

Department for Transport

Acting chair appointed to the Rail Passengers Council

28 Jun 2005 00:00
source Department for Transport
type Press release

The Secretary of State for Transport, Alistair Darling, today announced the appointment, with immediate effect, of Colin Foxall CBE as Acting Chairman of both the existing Rail Passengers Council (RPC) and the new RPC, which is due to come into existence at the end of July.

Colin Foxall is Chairman of the Rail Passengers Committee in Wales and a non-executive director of Radian Asset Assurance Ltd.

Alistair Darling said:
"I am pleased to appoint Colin Foxall as Acting Chair, and I know that his knowledge and experience will be vital in developing the Rail Passengers Council during this time of change."

Colin Foxall said:
"The RPC is on track to launch a new approach to railway passenger representation. I look forward to working with its new board and the RPC staff in taking the organisation forward."

Colin Foxall replaces Stewart Francis, who resigned recently as the Chairman of the existing and new RPC due to ill health. The recruitment campaign to identify a new Chair for the new organisation began earlier this month and an appointment is expected by the end of the summer.

Notes to Editors

1. The current RPC consists of 9 Chairmen (8 from the Committees and one from the London Transport Users Committee) and 6 Independent Members. There are 6 English regional Rail Passenger Committees and one each for Scotland and Wales. In London, LTUC is responsible for representing the needs of rail passengers.

2. Proposals to reform the RPC were contained in the Government's White Paper The Future of Rail published in July 2004 and the Railways Act 2005, which received Royal Assent on 7th April, put in place the legislation necessary for this reform. The provisions in the Act abolish the current RPC and the regional committees and replace them with a single, GB wide organisation, also called the Rail Passengers Council. The new RPC is due to come into existence at the end of July, at which point sponsorship of the RPC will transfer from the Strategic Rail Authority to the Department for Transport.

3. The new RPC will be a body corporate, executive Non-Departmental Public Body (NDPB). The duties of the Rail Passengers Council are principally set out in the Railways Act 1993 and the Transport Act 1962. Further provisions which are relevant to the new RPC only are set out in the Railways Act 2005. More details about the RPC can be found at:

4. The resignation of Stewart Francis was announced on 26th May via a Written Statement and a Press Notice and the announcement of the board members for the new RPC was made on 13th June.

5. The appointment of an Acting Chair for both the existing and new RPC is a temporary appointment until a permanent Chairman for the new RPC has been identified via a full and open recruitment campaign, regulated by the Office of the Commissioner for Public Appointments. We anticipate a new Chairman for the new RPC being appointed by the end of the summer.

6. Following consultation with, and agreement from, OCPA, due to the need for continuity during the RPC transition period, the Secretary of State selected a temporary chairman from those of the four current regional Rail Passenger Committee Chairman who had accepted appointment to the new RPC and who expressed an interest in being considered for the position of Acting Chair.

7. The Acting Chair will receive 25,000 pa based on a time commitment of up to 8 days a month. For the period of time that Colin Foxall is the Acting Chair of the new RPC, his membership appointment to the new RPC (and associated remuneration) will be suspended.

8. Colin Foxall CBE is a non-executive director at Radian Asset Assurance Ltd and a member of the British Transport Police Authority, an appointment for which he receives 14,000 pa. He has previously held posts as deputy chairman of the former NCM Group in Amsterdam, as CEO of its Cardiff based UK Company and as under-Secretary at the Export Credits Guarantee Department (ECGD). He is a former Dutch Consul in Wales and in 1995 was appointed a CBE. He is currently Chairman of the Rail Passenger Committee Wales and receives remuneration of 18,764 pa for this appointment. He was recently appointed as a member of the new RPC for a four year term.

Public Enquiries: 020 7944 8300
Department for Transport Website:

Railhub Archive ::: 2005-06-28 DfT-001


Not logged on