Wednesday 29 June 2022


< back | business | images | knowledge | library | rail unveiled | home


::: Test message -_— £ $ ‘’

Railhub Archive
2005-10-13 DfT-001
Department for Transport


Member of the British Transport Police Authority - appointment

keywords: click to search
Department for Transport

Phrases in [single square brackets] are hyperlinks in the original document

Phrases in [[double square brackets]] are editorial additions or corrections

Phrases in [[[triple square brackets]]] indicate embedded images or graphics in the original document. (These are not usually archived unless they contain significant additional information.)

Department for Transport

Member of the British Transport Police Authority - appointment

13 Oct 2005 00:00
source Department for Transport
type Press release

The Secretary of State for Transport, Alistair Darling, today announced the appointment of Raymond O'Toole as Member of the British Transport Police Authority.

Raymond O'Toole is one of the four Authority members with knowledge of, and experience in relation to, the interests of persons providing railway services. He succeeds Keith Ludeman who resigned from the Authority.

The Authority's role is to maintain and oversee a police force for the railways. The Authority was established on 1 July 2004, under the chairmanship of Sir Alistair Graham, to enhance the status and public accountability of the British Transport Police and bring it more closely in line with Home Office police forces.

Notes to editors

1. All members of the Authority are appointed in accordance with the Code of Practice issued by the Office of the Commissioner for Public Appointments.

2. Raymond O'Toole has been appointed for four years from 17 October 2005, with the possibility of renewal. Remuneration will be £14,000 per annum for a time commitment of 30 days per annum.

Members' biographical details

Raymond O'Toole
Raymond O'Toole has over 30 years experience in the transport sector. Since 1999 he has been Chief Operating Officer of National Express Group. He is also Executive Board Director for National Express Group with responsibility for the rail portfolio, including safety.

Public Enquiries: 020 7944 8300
Department for Transport Website:

Railhub Archive ::: 2005-10-13 DfT-001


Not logged on