Sunday 26 June 2022


< back | business | images | knowledge | library | rail unveiled | home


::: Test message -_— £ $ ‘’

Railhub Archive
2005-12-14 DfT-001
Department for Transport


Appointments to the Commission for Integrated Transport

keywords: click to search
Department for Transport

Phrases in [single square brackets] are hyperlinks in the original document

Phrases in [[double square brackets]] are editorial additions or corrections

Phrases in [[[triple square brackets]]] indicate embedded images or graphics in the original document. (These are not usually archived unless they contain significant additional information.)

Department for Transport

Appointments to the Commission for Integrated Transport

14 Dec 2005 00:00
source Department for Transport
type Press release

Alistair Darling, Secretary of State for Transport has appointed Gerard Docherty, Paul Godier, Dr Andrew Sentance and Dr Lynn Sloman as members of the Commission for Integrated Transport.

All the appointments will begin on 1 January 2006 and will run for a period of three years.

Notes to Editors

1. The Commission for Integrated Transport provides independent advice to Government on future transport policy options, the potential for new technology, the identification of best practice in transport and on transport issues which cross departmental boundaries. CfIT advises on transport issues across England and those non-devolved issues across the United Kingdom

2. The Commission is chaired by Peter Hendy. It is currently made up of 12 executive members with experience across a broad range of issues and 5 ex-officio members who represent the Disabled Persons Transport Advisory Committee, Network Rail, the Highways Agency, the Civil Aviation Authority and the Confederation of British Industry.

3. Each CfIT board member receives a remuneration of £5,431 per annum. 4. This recruitment campaign was carried out in full accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments (OCPA) Code of Practice and with the full involvement of an independent assessor appointed by OCPA.

Biographical details for new appointments

* Gerry Docherty is the General Secretary of the Transport Salaried Staffs' Association (TSSA). He was a long serving railwayman before joining the ranks of the full time Trade Union movement, and is a serving member of the General Council of the TUC.

* Paul Godier was formerly Chief Executive at Bournemouth Borough Council and was previously a Board Member of London Transport and Managing Director of London Underground Limited.

* Dr Andrew Sentance is the Chief Economist and Head of Environmental Affairs at British Airways. He was formerly the Director of the Centre for Economic Forecasting at the London Business School and the Director of Economic Affairs at the CBI.

* Dr Lynn Sloman is a partner at Transport For Quality of Life and is a Special Adviser to the Board of Transport for London and Board Member of Cycling England. She was previously Assistant Director of Environmental Group Transport 2000.

Public Enquiries: 020 7944 8300
Department for Transport Website:

Railhub Archive ::: 2005-12-14 DfT-001


Not logged on