Thursday 30 June 2022


< back | business | images | knowledge | library | rail unveiled | home


::: Test message -_— £ $ ‘’

Railhub Archive
2006-06-01 DfT-001
Department for Transport


Members appointed to the Railway Heritage Committee

keywords: click to search
Department for Transport

Phrases in [single square brackets] are hyperlinks in the original document

Phrases in [[double square brackets]] are editorial additions or corrections

Phrases in [[[triple square brackets]]] indicate embedded images or graphics in the original document. (These are not usually archived unless they contain significant additional information.)

Department for Transport

Members appointed to the Railway Heritage Committee

1 Jun 2006 00:00
source Department for Transport
type Press release

Transport Minister, Derek Twigg, today announced the appointment of six members to the Railway Heritage Committee.

Dr John Gough - a railway historian and journalist

Andrew Scott CBE - Head of the National Railway Museum at York

Mike Lamport - Head of Communications for Londonlines

Andrew McNaughton - Chief Engineer, Network Rail

Graham Smith - Planning Director, English Welsh & Scottish Railway

Jerry Swift - Community Rail Account Director, Network Rail

Derek Twigg said:
"The Railway Heritage Committee continues to ensure that our important railway legacy is not lost to the nation. These Committee members bring a range of experiences and knowledge which I am sure will help drive forward the work and profile of the Committee enabling them to continue to be strong champions for our rail heritage."

Lord Faulkner, Chair of the Railway Heritage Committee said:

"We have been through an exhaustive appointment process, and interviewed a number of outstanding candidates for appointment to the Committee. I warmly welcome our new members, and the reappointment of Andrew Scott and Dr John Gough, who have contributed so much to our deliberations since the committee started its work, will give us both strength and continuity."

Notes for Editors

The Railway Heritage Committee (RHC)

1. The Department for Transport has sponsored the Railway Heritage Committee since November 2005 when it became an executive Non-Departmental Public Body.

2. The RHC was originally established in 1994 within the privatisation legislation of the Railways Act 1993, and then in 1997 after the passage of the Railway Heritage Act 1996. It was previously sponsored by BRB (Residuary) Ltd, a subsidiary of the Strategic Rail Authority (SRA).

3. The role of the RHC is to identify those railway records and railway artefacts of future value to the nation, in the general interest of the public and for research and scholarship, and to ensure that they ultimately reside in good condition in appropriate locations. Once identified, the RHC has the function of designating those records and artefacts (or classes of record or artefact) which are historically significant and should be permanently preserved. Designation has the effect of ensuring that the owner of such artefacts and records may dispose of them only having sought the permission of the RHC.

4. The six public appointments have all been made on behalf of the Secretary of State for Transport and are for three years, commencing on 1st June 2006. RHC members are unremunerated, although all members are reimbursed for any out-of-pocket expenses duly incurred in the performance of their functions.

5. Two of the six members appointed have previously been members of the RHC - both John Gough and Andrew Scott had appointments to the RHC which expired on 31st May 2006. They were then successful in the recent open, public appointments campaign, which was regulated by the Office of the Commissioner for Public Appointments (OCPA). Due to the length of time that they have previously spent on the RHC, this is the last term of appointment for both these members.

6. Biographical details of appointees.

Dr John Gough - appointed as an individual member: A railway historian and journalist. Past Chairman of the Railway Study Association. Current Vice-President and former President, Railway & Canal Historical Society. Former President, Midland Railway Society.

Andrew Scott CBE - appointed to represent the National Railway Museum at York: Head of the National Railway Museum. Formerly Director, London Transport Museum. Chartered Civil Engineer and Fellow of the Museums Association. Chairman of the Advisory Board of the International Association of Transport Museums.

Mike Lamport - appointed as an employee of a body within scope of the RHC: Head of Communications for Londonlines, employed by Silverlink Train Services Ltd. Previously worked for British Rail and other rail industry companies. Member of the National Railway Heritage Awards Charity Committee.

Andrew McNaughton - appointed as an employee of a body within scope of the RHC: Chief Engineer, Network Rail Infrastructure Ltd. Previously worked for Railtrack and BR. Chartered Civil Engineer, Fellow of the Institution of Civil Engineering, Fellow and Past President of the Permanent Way Institution and a Member of the Institute of Directors.

Graham Smith - appointed as an individual member: Planning Director, English Welsh & Scottish Railway (EWS). Previously worked for British Rail. Chairman of the Rail Freight Operators Association and a Director of the Rail Freight Group.

Jerry Swift - appointed as an employee of a body within scope of the RHC: Account Director - Community Rail, Network Rail Infrastructure Ltd. Leads on Community Rail issues as well as Heritage Railways. Member of the British Institute of Facilities Management and Member of the Permanent Way Institute.

7. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for appointees' political activity (if any declared) to be made public. No appointees declared any political activity.

Railhub Archive ::: 2006-06-01 DfT-001


Not logged on