Wednesday 27 October 2021


< back | business | images | knowledge | library | rail unveiled | home


::: RMT threatens national industrial action over service cuts

Railhub Archive
2007-01-22 ORR-001
Office of Rail Regulation


Office of Rail Regulation: new board members; new structure

keywords: click to search

Office of Rail Regulation

Phrases in [single square brackets] are hyperlinks in the original document

Phrases in [[double square brackets]] are editorial additions or corrections

Phrases in [[[triple square brackets]]] indicate embedded images or graphics in the original document. (These are not usually archived unless they contain significant additional information.)

Office of Rail Regulation

Office of Rail Regulation: new board members; new structure

22 January 2007
source Office of Rail Regulation
type Press release

note ORR/02/07

The Secretary of State for transport today confirmed the appointment to the Office of Rail Regulation (ORR) Board of three new executive members with effect from 22 January. The appointments come as ORR launched a new corporate structure on 2 January 2007.

The three new executives are all members of ORR’s senior team: Linda Williams (Chief Inspector of Railways); Michael Lee (Director of Access, Planning and Performance); and John Thomas (Director of Competition and Regulatory Economics).

Chris Bolt, Chairman, said: “My Board colleagues and I welcome these appointments. Increasing the number of executives on the Board will improve further our effectiveness as the integrated safety and economic regulator for Britain’s railways, while maintaining the benefits of a Board structure. We are all committed to the aim of promoting improved safety, consumer performance and value for money across the industry.”

Bill Emery, Chief Executive said: “These appointments underpin our new corporate structure in which we reduced the number of directorates from eight to six so as to give us the focus we needed as a new regulator by combining safety and economic policy development. We have also streamlined some of our other functions. The appointments of Linda Williams, Michael Lee and John Thomas to the Board as executive members, reflects this new structure by providing the stronger links between the management team and the Board to take us into the next phase of delivering our corporate strategy.”

Notes to Editors
Biographies of new directors attached below.
The Office of Rail Regulation Board is Chaired by Chris Bolt, and now comprises 11 members. For more details visit:
ORR’s new corporate structure is organised into the following directorates:
Safety & Economic Policy Development (Michael Beswick – Board member and Sarah Straight, Director)
Rail Inspectorate (Linda Williams – Board member)
Competition & Regulatory Economics (John Thomas – Board member)
Access, Planning & Performance (Michael Lee – Board member)
Corporate Services (Lynda Rollason, Director)
Legal (Juliet Lazarus, Director)

Press enquiries
ORR Press Office – 020 7282 2188/2007

Michael Lee is Director of Access, Planning and Performance at the Office of Rail Regulation. He leads on overseeing Network Rail's performance and its stewardship of the national railway network infrastructure by monitoring and enforcing compliance with the network licence. He is also responsible for granting licences and approving access agreements. He provides advice to the Board on engineering and other railway operational matters. Michael is also a member of the Periodic Review Committee. He joined ORR in 2005 and has more than 30 years experience in the rail industry. He initially joined BR and worked in operational research, marketing and business planning. At privatisation he moved to OPRAF where he developed policy for fares and service specifications and led teams handling the award of franchises. He spent eight years in consultancy, the majority as a director of AEA Technology’s Rail business. He holds degrees in mathematics, statistics and OR.

John Thomas is Director of Competition and Regulatory Economics at the Office of Rail Regulation. He leads the development and implementation of competition, economic and financial policy underpinning ORR's regulation of the rail industry. John is also a member of the Periodic Review Committee. Prior to joining ORR in July 2001, he was a transport economist with Halcrow for seven years. He worked on the development and evaluation of transport policies and projects across all modes of transport, for Governments and the private sector, in the UK and overseas. He has also worked for Lloyds London for three years. He has an MA in Transport Economics from the University of Leeds. He is also an advisory member of the non-statutory Advisory Board of the Office of the Public Private Partnership Arbiter.

Linda Williams is the Chief Inspector of Railways at the Office of Rail Regulation. She is responsible the work of HM Railway Inspectorate, which strives to ensure duty-holders in the railway industry manage health and safety risks effectively and thus comply with their statutory duties. Linda is also a member of the Safety Regulation Committee. Prior to joining ORR in December 2005, she worked at the Health & Safety Executive for over 20 years.

Railhub Archive ::: 2007-01-22 ORR-001


Not logged on

11 stories

2 documents

6 documents