Monday 27 June 2022


< back | business | images | knowledge | library | rail unveiled | home


::: Test message -_— £ $ ‘’

Railhub Archive
2007-09-20 DfT-002
Department for Transport


Appointments to the Commission for Integrated Transport

keywords: click to search
Department for Transport

Phrases in [single square brackets] are hyperlinks in the original document

Phrases in [[double square brackets]] are editorial additions or corrections

Phrases in [[[triple square brackets]]] indicate embedded images or graphics in the original document. (These are not usually archived unless they contain significant additional information.)

Department for Transport

Appointments to the Commission for Integrated Transport

20 Sep 2007 09:58
source Department for Transport
type Press release

Ruth Kelly, Secretary of State for Transport, has appointed Corinne Swain, Philip Davis and Carolyn Dwyer as members of the Commission for Integrated Transport.

All the appointments will begin on 19 September 2007 and will run for a period of three years.

Notes to Editors

1. The Commission for Integrated Transport provides independent advice to Government on future transport policy options, the potential for new technology, the identification of best practice in transport and on transport issues which cross departmental boundaries. CfIT advises on transport issues across England and those non-devolved issues across the United Kingdom.

2. The Commission is chaired by Peter Hendy. It is currently made up of 13 executive members with experience across a broad range of issues and 5 ex-officio members who represent the Disabled Persons Transport Advisory Committee, Network Rail, the Highways Agency, the Civil Aviation Authority and the Confederation of British Industry.

3. Each CfIT board member receives remuneration of £5,431 per annum.

4. This recruitment campaign was carried out in full accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments (OCPA) Code of Practice and with the full involvement of an independent assessor appointed by OCPA.

Biographical details for new appointments

Corinne Swain is a former director of Ove Arup & Partners for whom she now works as a part-time consultant. She has recently chaired the Examination-in-Public of the South East Regional Spatial Strategy on behalf of Communities and Local Government, and has previously undertaken similar roles in three other regions. Corinne was awarded an OBE for services to planning in 2000.

Philip Davis is a former Leader of Telford & Wrekin Borough Council and past Chair of the West Midlands Regional Assembly. Now working in the community sector, his roles include Convener of the Assembly network for stakeholders from outside business and local government. Philip is also a member of the national Passenger Focus Board and the founder chair of transport users' group Travelwatch Midlands West.

Carolyn Dwyer is the Assistant Director of Transport and Waste at East Sussex County Council. She was previously at Brighton and Hove City Council where she worked in partnership with the Brighton and Hove Bus and Coach Company to deliver award-winning bus services, and led the Authority to win Transport Authority of the Year.

Public Enquiries: 020 7944 8300
Department for Transport Website:

Railhub Archive ::: 2007-09-20 DfT-002


Not logged on