Saturday 16 October 2021


< back | business | images | knowledge | library | rail unveiled | home


::: RMT threatens national industrial action over service cuts

Railhub Archive
2008-11-03 DfT-001
Department for Transport


Andrew Adonis appoints Millie Banerjee Chair and Member of the British Transport Police Authority

keywords: click to search

Department for Transport

Phrases in [single square brackets] are hyperlinks in the original document

Phrases in [[double square brackets]] are editorial additions or corrections

Phrases in [[[triple square brackets]]] indicate embedded images or graphics in the original document. (These are not usually archived unless they contain significant additional information.)

Department for Transport

Andrew Adonis appoints Millie Banerjee Chair and Member of the British Transport Police Authority

3 Nov 2008 09:51
source Department for Transport
type Press release

note DEPARTMENT FOR TRANSPORT News Release (163) issued by COI News Distribution Service. 3 November 2008

The Minister of State for Transport, Andrew Adonis, was delighted to announce today the appointment of Millie Banerjee as Chair and Member of the British Transport Police (BTP) Authority.

Millie Banerjee has been appointed for four years from 1 December 2008. Remuneration will be 32,100 per annum for a time commitment of 60 days per annum.

Millie Banerjee CBE is experienced at Board level with a very strong track record in operations management, consumer service and Human Resources policy, mainly in the communications sector. She is presently a Board member of Ofcom, and recently Chair of Postwatch until it merged with Consumer Focus. She is also a Trustee of the Peabody Trust.
Previously Millie has had numerous non-Executive Director positions on public bodies, including one in the Strategic Rail Authority and one with the Cabinet Office Strategy Board.

Millie was educated at London University and Woolwich Polytechnic and holds an Honorary Doctorate from Greenwich University.

She is married and lives in London.

All members of the Authority are appointed in accordance with the Code of Practice issued by the Office of the Commissioner for Public Appointments. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for appointees' political activity to be made public. No such activity was declared.

Notes to Editors
The Authority's role is to maintain and oversee a police force for the railways. The Authority was established on 1 July 2004, under the chairmanship of Sir Alistair Graham, to enhance the status and public accountability of the BTP.

Millie Banerjee already holds two other Ministerial appointments.
Non - Executive Board Member of Ofcom (Office of Communications)
Non - Executive Board member of Consumer Focus (BERR)
For which she is paid 53k and 29k per annum respectively.

Public Enquiries: 020 7944 8300
Department for Transport Website:

Railhub Archive ::: 2008-11-03 DfT-001


Not logged on