Tuesday 24 May 2022


< back | business | images | knowledge | library | rail unveiled | home


::: RMT threatens national industrial action over service cuts


Railhub Archive
2010-07-05 DfT-001
Department for Transport


British Transport Police Authority – Membership

keywords: click to search

Department for Transport

Phrases in [single square brackets] are hyperlinks in the original document

Phrases in [[double square brackets]] are editorial additions or corrections

Phrases in [[[triple square brackets]]] indicate embedded images or graphics in the original document. (These are not usually archived unless they contain significant additional information.)

Department for Transport

British Transport Police Authority – Membership

5 Jul 2010 10:15
source Department for Transport
type Press release

note News Release issued by the COI News Distribution Service on 05 July 2010

Transport Minister Theresa Villiers announced today the appointment of Elizabeth France CBE to the British Transport Police Authority, and the reappointments of Jeroen Weimar and Lew Adams OBE. All three appointments are for four years from 1 July 2010.

Also reappointed is Robin Gisby. He will remain with the Authority for a further twelve months, at which point an open competition will be held for another member.

Theresa Villiers said:

“I am pleased to welcome Elizabeth France to the Authority and that Jeroen Weimar, Lew Adams and Robin Gisby have all agreed to serve further terms. The Authority has a vital role to play in helping the British Transport Police to deliver the excellent service it provides to all those who work and travel on the railway. I am grateful to all those whose appointments I am announcing today for their contribution to that process.”

The British Transport Police Authority was established on 1 July 2004. Its role is to enhance the status and public accountability of the British Transport Police and to maintain and oversee an effective police force for the railways.

Notes to Editors

1. The Railways and Transport Safety Act 2003 which established the British Transport Police Authority requires that at least four of its members must have knowledge and experience in relation to the interests of persons travelling by railway. At least four more must have knowledge and experience of providing railway services and one must have knowledge and experience in relation to the interests of railway employees.

2. Elizabeth France has been appointed as a member with knowledge of passenger interests; Jeroen Weimar and Robin Gisby as members with experience of providing railway services and Lew Adams as a member with experience of the interests of railway employees.

3. All members of the BTPA are entitled to a salary of £15,907 per annum in return for a time commitment of thirty days a year.

Biographical notes

Elizabeth France CBE is currently Chair of the Office for Legal Complaints, leading the Board and providing support and strategic direction to the executive team charged with creating an Ombudsman service by the end of 2010. As Chair, Elizabeth devotes 80 days per year to this and receives a remuneration of £70,000. For 20 days a year Elizabeth is also a member of the Serious Organised Crime Agency and for which she receives £20,000.

Elizabeth was the successful candidate for the BTPA post following an open competition.

Jeroen Weimar was until recently Chief Operating Officer for Transport for London. He has recently joined Serco Group plc as their Managing Director, Transport. He is responsible for all Serco’s transport operations in the UK including the Docklands Light Railway, their joint ventures with Abellio at Northern Rail and Merseyrail. He was reappointed for a second term as permitted under the rules of public appointments.

Lew Adams was General Secretary of the Train Drivers Union ASLEF. This is Lew’s third term and he was appointed following an open competition.

Robin Gisby became Network Rail’s director, operations and customer services in May 2004. He was appointed to the board in October 2008 having previously served in a range of roles with the company including Director of its Southern and Eastern Regions. He was previously Railtrack’s Director, Network Development and Director of Freight.

All members of the Authority are appointed in accordance with the Code of Practice issued by the Office of the Commissioner for Public Appointments. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for appointees’ political activity to be made public. No such activity was declared in this case.

Press Enquiries: 020 7944 3108 Out of Hours: 020 7944 4292 Public Enquiries: 0300 330 3000 Department for Transport Website: http://www.dft.gov.uk

Railhub Archive ::: 2010-07-05 DfT-001


Not logged on