Tuesday 28 June 2022


< back | business | images | knowledge | library | rail unveiled | home


::: Test message -_— £ $ ‘’

Railhub Archive
2012-10-22 DfT-001
Department for Transport


Rail passengers in the north west set for bigger say

keywords: click to search
Bentham Line
community railways

Phrases in [single square brackets] are hyperlinks in the original document

Phrases in [[double square brackets]] are editorial additions or corrections

Phrases in [[[triple square brackets]]] indicate embedded images or graphics in the original document. (These are not usually archived unless they contain significant additional information.)

Department for Transport

Rail passengers in the north west set for bigger say

22 October 2012
source Department for Transport
type Press release

Passengers in the North West will have more say on how local rail services are run after the service designation of the Bentham Line as a community rail service, Rail Minister Norman Baker announced today.

Designation of the line between Leeds to Morecambe will enable train companies to work more closely with the Leeds, Lancaster and Morecambe Community Rail Partnership to better design services to meet local needs.

Community Rail Minister Norman Baker said:

“I want to encourage communities to become more closely involved with their railways to help create the services and stations passengers deserve.

“That’s why I am delighted to announce this latest community rail service designation. Today’s designation is a major step towards helping the Leeds, Lancaster and Morecambe Community Rail Partnership work closely with local groups to provide innovative and more cost effective rail services for their community.“

Ian Bevan, Managing Director of Northern Rail, which runs services on the route, said:

“The designation of the Bentham Line is fantastic news for the local community. As this route is integral to the area, its designation ensures it will be developed to benefit local people and visitors to the region. We look forward to working with the community rail partnership to enable the route to prosper as much as possible.”

Councillor Richard Rollins, Chairman of the Leeds, Lancaster and Morecambe Community Rail Partnership said:

“This is excellent news. Designation will enable the Community Rail Partnership to work in partnership with the local community to make significant developments along the line. Key objectives include station improvements and service developments.”

Notes to editors

The Community Rail Development Strategy looks at innovative ways of operating local branch lines, through a programme of cost management, a drive to increase passenger numbers and direct community involvement via local authorities, community rail partnerships, and other stakeholder groups.
To date, 19 lines with their services have been designated as Community Rail lines:
St Ives Bay Line: St Erth to St Ives June 2005. Selected as one of the six pilot projects
Abbey Line: St Albans Abbey to Watford Junction June 2005. Selected as one of the six pilot projects
Esk Valley Line: Middlesbrough to Whitby June 2005. Selected as one of the six pilot lines
Tamar Valley Line: Plymouth to Gunnislake September 2005. Linked with Looe Valley as one of the six pilot projects
Looe Valley Line: Liskeard to Looe September 2005. Linked with Tamar Valley as one of the six pilot projects
Penistone Line: Barnsley to Huddersfield September 2005. Selected as one of the six pilot projects
Island Line: Isle of Wight (Ryde to Shanklin), March 2006
Tarka Line: Barnstaple to Cowley Junction Exeter, September 2006
Maritime Line: Falmouth to Truro September 2006
Derwent Valley: Derby to Matlock September 2006
East Lancashire Line: Colne to Gannow Junction, Burnley November 2006
Gainsborough Line: Marks Tey to Sudbury November 2006
Barton Line: Barton-on-Humber to Ulceby N. Junction January 2007
Bittern Line: Norwich to Sheringham September 2007
Lakes Line: Oxenholme – Windermere April 2008
South Fylde Line: Blackpool South – Preston April 2008
Lymington Line: Brockenhurst – Lymington July 2008
Preston to Ormskirk Line: Preston to Ormskirk September 2011
Avocet Line: Exeter St David’s – Exmouth September 2012

Additionally, 14 services have been designated as community rail services whilst not designating the lines on which they run. These services are designated when there are reasons why the infrastructure cannot be included in the designation – because it carries non local traffic or heavy freight or has previously been designated as part of the Trans European Network. To date the following services have been designated:
Poacher Line: Grantham to Skegness July 2006. Selected as one of the six pilot projects
Atlantic Coast Line: Newquay to Par September 2006
Marston Vale Line: Bletchley to Bedford November 2006
Wherry Lines: Norwich to Yarmouth February 2007
Wherry Lines: Norwich to Lowestoft February 2007
Clitheroe Line: Manchester to Clitheroe March 2007
Medway Valley Line: Paddock Wood to Strood September 2007
Severn Beach Line: Bristol Temple Meads – Severn Beach April 2008
North Staffordshire Line: Crewe – Derby via Stoke-on-Trent November 2008
Cumbrian Coast Line: Carlisle to Barrow-in-Furness September 2009
Bishop Line: Darlington – Bishop Auckland January 2011
Heart of Wessex Line: Bristol to Weymouth October 2011
Mid Cheshire: Chester to Manchester via Northwich January 2012
Furness Line: Carnforth to Barrow-in-Furness, June 2012

Press Enquiries: 020 7944 3108
Out of Hours: 020 7944 4292
Public Enquiries: 0300 330 3000

Railhub Archive ::: 2012-10-22 DfT-001


Not logged on