Friday 1 July 2022


< back | archive | business | images | industry | library | pocketbook | rail unveiled | subscribe | about | log on | home


::: Test message -_— £ $ ‘’

Railhub Knowledge

London Overground

topic ref. 94955665


click keywords to search
London Overground

related topics

Transport for London

London Overground

related topics

Transport for London

A division of Transport for London which began operating some local rail services, mainly within Greater London, on 12 November 2007.

The operator of London Overground is appointed via a concession, and the first holders of the contract are LOROL (London Overground Rail Operations Limited), owned jointly by MTR Corporation and Deutsche Bahn. The concession was to end originally on 8 November 2014. It was extended on 11 February 2013 to 12 November 2016.

The first Overground services had all formed the Metro routes of the National Express franchise Silverlink (which ceased entirely on 12 November 2007), and were London Euston-Watford Junction (local), Richmond-Stratford, Clapham Junction-Willesden Junction and Gospel Oak-Barking.

The East London Line of London Overground was closed in 2007 for conversion to Overground operation, and opened between Dalston Junction (reconstructed from previously derelict line between Dalston Junction and Shoreditch) and New Cross Gate/New Cross in 2010. The service on this section was also extended beyond New Cross Gate to Crystal Palace and West Croydon over Network Rail infrastructure, although management of the stations involved was transferred to London Overground.

A further reconstructed section north of Dalston Junction to connect with the North London Line was opened in 2011, allowing East London services to start from Highbury & Islington.

An additional curve near Surrey Quays was built to allow Overground trains to turn right and continue over Network Rail infrastructure to Denmark Hill and Clapham Junction. This was opened to traffic in 2012.

The West Anglia suburban services which had formed part of the Greater Anglia franchise were also transferred to London Overground on 1 June 2015. These routes are London Liverpool Street to Enfield Town, Chingford and Cheshunt (via Seven Sisters).

Most of the infrastructure used by London Overground is owned and maintained by Network Rail, but Transport for London is responsible from the Dalston Western Curve (north of Dalston Junction) to New Cross Gate and New Cross.

The main fleet consists of Class 378 Bombardier 'Capitalstar' units, but there is also a small diesel fleet of eight Class 172 Bombardier units for the Gospel Oak-Barking line.

A further fleet of Bombardier trains is on order for the West Anglia lines from Liverpool Street.

The main depot is at New Cross Gate.

Knowledge 9495-5665


Not logged on


53 stories

80 documents

1 document

3 entries

16 collections

2 articles